Google decides to delete any account that has two years of inactivity. See how they decide to go about it.

  • bedrooms
    link
    fedilink
    316 months ago

    Exception for YouTube Video Posters:

    Notably, any account that has posted one or more videos on YouTube will be exempt from the account purge, regardless of the period of inactivity. This exception ensures that users who have contributed content to the platform will not lose their accounts.

  • SokathHisEyesOpen
    link
    fedilink
    English
    226 months ago

    It’s not the first time. Besides, they won’t even let you log into old accounts that don’t have recovery emails and real names set. I lost a couple of really good usernames from the beta era after they rolled out all of their account protection practices. A password isn’t good enough for Google.

    • Em Adespoton
      link
      fedilink
      136 months ago

      They’ve got a “real names” rule?

      They haven’t applied it against the online pseudonyms I’ve been using for the past 30 years. Thankfully.

      • SokathHisEyesOpen
        link
        fedilink
        English
        136 months ago

        They wouldn’t let me log into a couple of accounts despite having the password, saying that I hadn’t used it for awhile and they couldn’t verify I was the account owner. Since there was no recovery email set, which was intentional because it was supposed to be an anonymous account, and none of the other information I set was real, they said they can’t verify me and won’t let me log in. They’re pretty insistent that passwords alone aren’t acceptable, even when you use all of your real information. Go try to log into Google on a new device from a new location and see what a huge PITA it is.

        • Em Adespoton
          link
          fedilink
          86 months ago

          Ah; that explains it; I have multiple accounts cross-linked as recovery accounts. Sounds like I’ll be fine as long as I don’t run afoul of their “inactive” rules.

          • SokathHisEyesOpen
            link
            fedilink
            English
            9
            edit-2
            6 months ago

            It was disappointing. I had uber1337 and lost it due to them refusing to let me log back in. That name doesn’t mean much now, but it was pretty l33t back then.

            Edit: I guess it’s actually a pretty stupid name now that there’s a taxi company named Uber. Cool, I just made peace with losing that account. Haha!

    • @jamiehs@lemmy.ml
      link
      fedilink
      English
      86 months ago

      They can leverage these terms if they want to. For example you’re also only allowed to have one account per person.

      Wasn’t it the Terraria dev who got his account locked and they used that as an excuse as to why he was locked out of his account? They said he had too many accounts or something?

      https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2021/02/terraria-developer-cancels-google-stadia-port-after-youtube-account-ban/

      They can enforce arbitrary rules when they need to if they wanna fuck you over; just like cops.

      • SokathHisEyesOpen
        link
        fedilink
        English
        16 months ago

        I do only have one account with them now. They’re a terrible platform these days if you want an anonymous spam account. They were good back in the day because they offered 10x the storage as everyone else, and we hadn’t fully comprehended the scope of their snooping. My only email address with them now is used as a corporate spam address, since it’s completely overrun with spam anyways, after 20+ years of use.

    • Otter
      link
      fedilink
      English
      166 months ago

      I think that would be a security nightmare, so they probably won’t (and they’ll probably be forced to not do it if they try)

    • @muhyb@programming.dev
      link
      fedilink
      66 months ago

      When deleting a Google account, they warn you about your username won’t be reclaimable. So I assume this will be the same.

  • @nope@jlai.lu
    link
    fedilink
    126 months ago

    an inactive Google account is one that has not been used for a continuous period of two years. Google defines “activity” as actions such as signing in to read or send emails, using Google Drive, watching YouTube videos, sharing photos, or downloading apps.

      • @averyminya@beehaw.org
        link
        fedilink
        66 months ago

        It is, though 2 years is a little short. I just got back into my very first Yahoo e-mail not long ago and that wouldn’t have been possible with a policy like this.

        But, they have so many that have been stagnant for so long so I’m not really faulting them for this particular move.

        • Em Adespoton
          link
          fedilink
          26 months ago

          Microsoft killed off my pre-MS Hotmail account years back. Google’s got lots of company with the 2 years rule.

    • Em Adespoton
      link
      fedilink
      46 months ago

      Signing in to what, though?

      I have one account that only ever gets used via a third party email client. When I check my email, am I “signing in” by Google’s definition or not?

      • 77slevin
        link
        fedilink
        5
        edit-2
        6 months ago

        Yes, your 3rd party email client uses your username and password to SIGN IN, which constitutes as signing in for Google.

        • Em Adespoton
          link
          fedilink
          26 months ago

          Are you sure? I’ve had accounts before where only signing in to the official web UI or client counted (because that’s where they showed ads and grabbed telemetry).

          So while WE would consider using third party clients to be signing in, THEY may define it differently.

    • bedrooms
      link
      fedilink
      26 months ago

      Oof. What do I do with all those websites referring to my other gmail account I never use… I don’t want my main gmail to receive these messages.

  • liv
    link
    fedilink
    English
    116 months ago

    I thought they had already done it. I got the notification months ago.

  • @TroublesomeTalker@feddit.uk
    link
    fedilink
    English
    66 months ago

    So. Years back. When they did that ad where parents sent a kid emails to their own Gmail and then gave them the account details when they were grown up… Everyone who ever did that are gonna lose all their work if they don’t think to log in periodically. Nice.